AU-gust, AU-tumn… It really would make sense.

17 Aug

I may have mentioned this before, but here it is again: I really don’t like August. It is my least favorite month of the year. June and July are sufficient summer enough for me. By the time August rolls around I am done with the heat, done with the sweat, so done with the bug spray and bbqs. And the mornings start to get cool, and my hopes start to get high.  And then, by noon, I have to take off my sweater.

Anyway…

The kiddos and I took the afternoon last Friday and dilly-dallied our way down the Bitterroot Valley to the Daly Mansion and the Lee Metcalf National Wildlife Refuge. Aside from the weather being hotter than we (I) anticipated (hoped),  it was one of those pretty, pleasant, picture-perfect days. Exhibit A:

We spotted a Great Horned Owl, a Ruby-Throated Hummingbird, an Osprey and, of course, the requisite ducks and geese. We hiked and played in the sand and walked in the river. R grabbed handfuls of that slimy moss that covers the river rocks near the banks and threw it around while singing a song about slippery muck. L read every available brochure and pamphlet on the various plants and wildlife and mumbled non-six-year-old things like, “Huh. Well that’s interesting,” and “So, venomous is a synonym for poisonous.” It was a hands-on, in the dirt, field day and we loved every minute.

On a completely unrelated note, B gave me a beautifully bound tome containing the seven novels (yes, seven) of Jane Austen for our anniversary last month and I cannot express how much I looove this book. I had read Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice previously, as well as making a couple attempts on Emma (don’t get me started), but I had never read Persuasion, Mansfield Park, or Northanger Abbey, and I had never even heard of Lady Susan. Needless to say, I’ve been in Austen-land for several weeks now, specifically Persuasion-land at the moment, my last stop, but I just have to say- Austen fans sit down- I really liked Northanger Abbey! I was pre-disposed to dislike it, I think, given that all the Janeites I’ve ever spoken to roll their eyes at the mention of it. But I, who have always considered myself an Eleanore Dashwood, felt like I was reading the seventeen-year-old version of myself in Catherine Morland. And Henry Tilney- swoon! I admit I was a little unsatisfied with the abruptness of the ending, but overall I liked the story quite as much as S&S or P&P. And the same for Mansfield Park. Fanny Price, in my humble opinion, gets far less credit as a heroine than she deserves. Agree or disagree?

And on a somewhat related (in a slightly convoluted way) note: I sometimes like to pretend I’m British. Just in my head. Put on the British accent and, bob’s your uncle, things are just nicer. Which may be why I love these girls so much. Though, neither of them are British either. But check out Melissa’s t-shirts (I met her once. Super nice.)I’m thinking about joining the Bronte-along… if I can put down Austen for a little while, that is. I do love Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights… never read The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. But I want to have time to re-read all the Harry Potters before the next movie comes out in November as well (sooo excited!). There’s another reason to want to be British right there: proximity to the awesomeness of Rowling. And, blimey, much better slang.

Keep Soaring,

AM

Leave a Reply

