Glacier National Awesomeness

22 Jul

As mentioned a couple of posts ago, the kids and I got a chance to visit Glacier National Park two weekends ago with my mom, Nanna, who had come north to see Miss L as a seahorse. The expedition was planned as a day trip (we only live about three hours away from the park) but spontaneously became an overnighter when we realized just how much there is to see and do in the GNP. Somehow, in all the years B and I have lived in Montana, GNP is just one of those places that we’ve been meaning to go… but something always comes up. You know how that is, I’m sure. Anyway, after an afternoon in the park, one picnic, one hike, and a whole lot of “I wish we had time to see this, I wish we had time to hike there,” we grabbed a room at the Motel 6 and a couple clean tees off the Kalispell Walmart clearance rack to see us through. My only regrets on this excursion were 1.) That B wasn’t with us, and 2.) Not bringing my toothbrush. That whole finger with toothpaste thing is really not very effective.

Now, pictures. I took so many more than this, but sometimes, in some places, I think it’s almost pointless to take a picture because no matter how great a photographer you are (and I’m mediocre at best), there’s no way the image  is going to convey the power and beauty of actually being there. So I’m only showing here those that I think come close to doing the landscape justice.  And my cute kids, of course.

L and R at Apgar Village, Lake McDonald in background

I didn't know the butterfly was there when I snapped this. L was thrilled.

Lake McDonald with, if I'm not mistaken, the Livingston mountain range in the background.

Avalanche Falls, our first day's hike

Morning of day 2

Lake McDonald

Again, Lake McDonald. The water was unrealistically blue. The epitome of aqua.

Just one of the breathtaking views on Going to the Sun Road (an engineering marvel in itself).

They are tough kids, but we wore them out.

Again, Going to the Sun Road

The top of Logan Pass. Don't let the Glacier Lilies fool you, the wind was bitter cold.

I believe this horn is called Reynolds Mountain, as seen from Logan Pass

We couldn't have had a more beautiful day.

Oh Lord, my God,

When I in awesome wonder

Consider all the worlds Thy hands have made,

I see the stars,

I hear the rolling thunder,

Thy power throughout the universe displayed,

Then sings my soul, my Savior God to Thee:

How great Thou art!

Thanks, Mom, for a memorable trip.

Love, AM

One Response to “Glacier National Awesomeness”

  1. uglicoyote July 26, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Nice photos darlin.

Leave a Reply

