They Are Just Things…

24 Jun

And I, as a homemaker, can make my home regardless of things. But they are kick-butt things, nonetheless. 🙂

I had a girlie thrift -store-spree- and-lunch date yesterday with one of my favorite people in the world, my dear friend S. If there were one gift I could give to everyone out there, it would be the gift of a friend who inspires you, who admires you (as you admire her),  and who understands you and your need for what I like to call The Thrill of the Thrift. Indeed, she too would possess such a need and would be happy to pay less than $20 for a day with you at anytime.

What think ye of my finds? I love the little ceramic box, which was marked with a boutique tag reading Vintage Flower Box $22, but for which I paid $2. And the tea kettle… I actually went looking for a thrifted tea kettle about a month ago, wanting it for a science experiment the kids and I were conducting, and couldn’t find one. But yesterday, when I wasn’t looking, of course I found no fewer than three. I bought the first one though, for its sunny color and simple design. The fabric stack I am very excited about and I think the vintage gray and white polka dot will be the first piece to grace the frame of…

my birthday gift! A lovely vintage dress form that I found on Ebay (thanks Mom and B!). I am so pleased with it. It shows a little wear, but it’s adjustable in more places than your standard dress form and, unlike the modern plastic versions, has a sturdy cast-iron stand and metal inner workings. I actually saw another vintage dress form at one of the shops we went to yesterday for twice what I paid for my baby. Oh yeah. The Thrill of the Thrift.

So, what to name her? Any suggestions?

Love, AM

4 Responses to “They Are Just Things…”

  1. kim June 24, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Mr. Pickles

  2. Andrea June 24, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Gertrude Penelope Fancy-Bottom

  3. dajapri June 25, 2010 at 1:05 am #

    Bessy

  4. Jan Brown June 25, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    I vote “Emma June.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

