Some Clarification. . .

4 Sep

So for those of you who don’t read the comments that come after the posts, and/or are not me and therefore not privy to all my conversations that happen outside of Blogland, I’d like to clarify a few things about what I last wrote.

1. No, I do not think that everyone should home school (did I ever say that? um, no). Every child and every family is different. Parents need to have the confidence to assess their children, their time, and their local educational opportunities to determine what is best for their children.

2. No, I don’t judge you for sending your child to public school. See above (exasperated sigh). All I was really trying to say in that oh-so-shocking (apparently) first paragraph was that I don’t understand how any parent who loves their child could doubt their ability to teach their child (not necessarily in a home school context).

3. I’m talking about the CURRENT state of pub.ed. Specifically the No Child Left Behind Act. Things were different when I was a kid, though the system has never been without flaws.

4. The most valuable experiences of my public education were those that happened in elective classes like Drama, Choir, Orchestra, and Art. And, in case you weren’t aware, the arts are not exclusively available through public schools. I could list off the top of my head a dozen places/groups/clubs where home schooled children could participate in such activities.

And 5. Well, actually, I don’t have a 5. I just like odd numbers better than even 🙂

As a side note, and by that I mean an end note, Chickadee has really taken to our  lessons. Her mind is alive and buzzing with questions, she thrills in finding out the answers, using her imagination, and, of course, imparting all of her new-found knowledge to Chickadoo. I may (eventually, when I have time) add a blog page just for lesson logs, fun moments, and great projects we’ve done. Then you all can share the joy 🙂

Love, AM

Leave a Reply

