AnomalyMom: Aviator Extraordinaire

17 Aug

And by Aviator Extraordinaire I mean Aviator Who Says “aaaahh! you fly! you fly!” to the Instructor Every Time We Hit an Air Pocket.

So, how surprised was I when I received the phone call a couple of weeks ago that I had actually won one of those drawings that you enter at a booth at a street fair and never ever expect to win? I was so surprised that I told the man on the phone to SHUT UP. Luckily, he was gen-x enough to know that I wasn’t being rude, just vapid. My Prize: A Discovery Flight from Western Wings Aviation School. Half an hour, with an instructor, me actually flying the plane.

You faithful readers of this not-so-faithful writer may recall my aforementioned tweenage fascination with flying, heavily influenced by the movie Always and Holly Hunter’s husky drawl. Getting a pilot’s license has been on my Someday But Not While My Kids are Little list for many years, so you can imagine how excited I was about this experience. I got a little nervous the day of when we arrived at the hanger and a tall, lanky kid who looked about 16 introduced himself as my instructor, but my gut instinct told me we would be okay, so Doogie, Chickadee and I went up. She loved it. I loved it, too. It’s really very different from flying on a regular commercial plane; the sensation of being airborne, the noise, the temperature, are not removed by a pressurized, artificial environment. I gained an appreciation for the Element Wind and its power over man’s greatest inventions.

I actually did the pulling back on the yoke (also known as the Steering Thingy) for the takeoff while the instructor controlled the rudders (you do this with your feet- did you know that?) and the throttle. Then, when we had climbed to about 8000 feet, I took over the rudders as well. The plane was incredibly sensitive- I was continually over-banking, over-climbing- just because the slightest movement in one direction or another triggered what I’d like to call a Histrionic Mechanical Reaction. And then we’d get some turbulence and I’d throw my hands up and tell Charlie (my instructor’s actual name) to take over. I have to give credit to Charlie (who is not 16, but closer to 20 or 21). He was very professional and confident, yet friendly and casual at the same time. And he said I did remarkably well for my first time flying, so he gets points for being complimentary (yes, it actually is that easy to get in my good graces, people).  Anyway, here are some snaps. Enjoy!

Pre-Flight

Pre-Flight

The takeoff; I'm doing the flying here.

The takeoff; I'm doing the flying here.

Chickadee- Adventure Girl. She was thrilled. But the headset was way too big.

Chickadee- Adventure Girl. She was thrilled. But the headset was way too big.

We flew over Kolob Canyons- hard to tell, but it was beautiful.

We flew over Kolob Canyons- hard to tell, but it was beautiful.

Back on earth. And CD resumes respiration.

Back on earth. And CD resumes respiration.

3 Responses to “AnomalyMom: Aviator Extraordinaire”

  1. Karalene Ludlow August 20, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    Amber ~ Love your adventurous spirit! How long hasve you been taking lessons? Can’t wait to see your updates! take care cute girl ~ Karalene

  2. Karalene Ludlow August 20, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Just re-read the first couple of lines and realized it was a prize! Silly me … do you think you will take up lessons?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. California, Part One « The Impulse to Soar - December 20, 2010

    […] airplane ride for a very excited R, but L, who is apparently a seasoned pro after our Cedar City adventure, chilled in the airport ‘reader’s corner’ with Papa. She did get excited on the […]

Leave a Reply

